Keynote & Plenary

We are delighted to announce the line up of our keynote and plenary speakers.

Keynote Speaker

Ian Chapman

Professor Ian Chapman

CEO of the UK Atomic Energy Authority and Head of the Culham Centre for Fusion Energy

Ian Chapman has held a number of international roles in fusion, including Chair of ITER international working groups.  He has published over 110 journal papers, one of which was shortlisted for the Nuclear Fusion Award in 2013, and given 30 invited lead-author presentations at international conferences. He received the European Physical Society Early Career Prize in 2014, the Institute of Physics Paterson Medal in 2013, the IUPAP Plasma Physics Young Scientist Prize in 2012 and the Cavendish Medal for Best early-career UK physicist in 2011. He was made a Fellow of the Institute of Physics in 2013 and became a visiting Professor at Durham University in 2015.


Plenary Speakers

Satoshi Awaji

Professor Satoshi Awaji

HFLSM, Institute for Materials Research, Tohoku University

Satoshi Awaji received a MS in 1990 in physics from Hiroshima University and then became a research associate at Tohoku University. He got a doctor of engineering from Tohoku University in 1998. Since 2016, he is a professor at High Field Laboratory for Superconducting Materials (HFLSM), Institute for Materials Research, Tohoku University. He is an experimental scientist on superconducting materials research and high field magnet with experiences in the physics of superconducting materials and also in technology of high field superconducting magnets. His specialty areas of expertise are critical currents of practical superconducting wires/tapes and (cryogen-free) superconducting magnets with high temperature superconductors and Nb3Sn. He is mostly involved in the understanding the flux pinning mechanism of practical superconducting materials and in the developing the high field cryogen-free superconducting magnets, as well as managing the user program of the HFLSM. He has published more than 541 ISI journal papers and given 38 invited talks at international conferences.

Amalia BallarinoDr Amalia Ballarino

CERN Senior Scientist

Senior scientist at CERN, the European Organization for Nuclear Research, Amalia Ballarino was responsible for the several thousand current leads that today power the superconducting magnets of the Large Hadron Collider (LHC). For the development of Temperature Superconducting (HTS) current leads, which has been the first large-scale commercial application of HTS, she received the award of “Superconductor Industry Person of the Year 2006”. After having participated in the commissioning of the Large Hadron Collider, she has been working on the development of a superconducting power transmission system based on a novel MgB2 electrical transfer line. The system will be used in the LHC for the powering of the High-Luminosity (HL-LHC) magnets; it also has potential for power transmission in future grids. Since 2010, Amalia Ballarino is in charge of superconductor development, characterization and procurement for the CERN accelerator complex. Her field of activity covers low- and intermediate-temperature (Nb-Ti, Nb3Sn and MgB2), and high-temperature (BSCCO and REBCO) superconducting wires and cables. Focus today is on the procurement of the Nb3Sn for the HL-LHC magnets and on the R&D of high-performance superconductors for future high-energy machine. Coordinator of international collaborations in the field of applied superconductivity, she serves the community as lecturer, consultant, member of program committees of international conferences, and technical editor and reviewer of papers for scientific journals.

Irfan Siddiqi

Professor Irfan Siddiqi

Director of the Quantum Nanoelectronics Laboratory and Center for Quantum Coherent Science, UC Berkeley

Irfan Siddiqi is a Faculty Scientist at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, a Department of Energy Office of Science lab, and a Professor of Physics at the University of California, Berkeley. Irfan completed his undergraduate degree in chemistry & physics and PhD in applied physics from Harvard University and Yale University, respectively. Irfan joined the physics department at UC Berkeley in the summer of 2006. Siddiqi and his research group, the Quantum Nanoelectronics Laboratory, focus on the development of advanced superconducting circuits for quantum information processing, including computation and metrology. Additionally, Siddiqi runs the Advanced Quantum Testbed at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. Siddiqi is also the founder of the interdisciplinary Center for Quantum Coherent Science at Berkeley. Irfan is known for seminal contributions to quantum measurement science, including real time observations of wavefunction collapse, tests of the Heisenberg uncertainty principle, quantum feedback, and the development of a range of microwave frequency, quantum noise limited analog amplifiers. Irfan is a fellow of the American Physical Society, and in 2006 was awarded the George E. Valley Jr. prize for the development of the Josephson bifurcation amplifier. Siddiqi is a recipient of Young Investigator Awards given by the Navy, Airforce, and DARPA, the Hellman Family Faculty Fund, and the UC Berkeley Chancellor’s Partnership Faculty Fund. Siddiqi is among five faculty members who received the "2016 Distinguished Teaching Award," UC Berkeley’s most prestigious honor for teaching.

Contact Information

EUCAS 2019 Conference Secretariat
c/o SAS Event & Association Management, The Old George Brewery, Rollestone Street
Salisbury, SP1 1DX, UK